The ecclesiastical year, which according to Byzantine practice begins on the first of September, is divided between movable and immovable or fixed holy days. The movable holy days are determined by the date of Easter, the most important of all feast days, which is in a class by itself. The determination of the date of Easter was definitively regulated by the decision of the First Ecumenical Synod, held in Nicaea (325). Next in importance to Easter are the “twelve great feasts,” of which three are movable. Eight of these feasts are devoted to Christ and four to the Virgin Mary. There are also a number of feast days of varying importance, most of which commemorate the more popular saints.

Taken from “The Calendar of the Orthodox Church” by Dr. Lewis Patsavos,Ph.D.
January 6: The Feast of Epiphany
February 2: The Presentation of Christ
Great Lent, Holy Week, and Pascha
The Ascension of Christ
Holy Pentecost
August 6: The Transfiguration of Christ
August 15: The Dormition of the Theotokos
September 8: The Nativity of the Theotokos
September 14: The Exaltation of the Cross
October 26: Feast of the Great Martyr Demetrios
November 21: The Entrance Into the Temple of the Theotokos
December 25: The Nativity of Christ
Copyright: 2003 Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America